A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide history of fatehabad

History of Fatehabad

Fatehabad in Haryana has long historical tale to narrate. This part has seen the rule of many dynasties over periods of time. The article highlights the various periods and kingdoms that contribute majorly to the history of Fatehabad. Many fmous personalities like Prithviraj Chauhan, Firoj Shah Tuglak Mughal Emperor Babar, Humayun ruled over this place. Maharaja Amar Singh of Patiala also included Fatehabad in his territories.

History of Fatehabad
Fatehabad Lat or Stone Pillar

Ancient History of Fatehabad

In the very beginning the Aryans dominated the place. Fatehabad also finds mention in Mahabharata which reveals that Pandavas and their descendants had also ruled this place. On the other hand, according to the “Puranas”, Fatehabad has also been a part of Nanda Empire. As per the historians, the Ashoka Pillars that were unearthed here are proofs of the dominance of Mauryan Empire over the region. After the end of Mauryan Dynasty, the Yaudhey tribes and Agras stood up for independence and captured the area. The Agras governed the areas of Barwala and Agroha. They also issued coins in the capital Headquarters of Agroha.

Medieval History of Fatehabad

Later Fatehabad was ruled by Prithviraj Chauhan who took special measures to protect the area from Muslim invasions. However, after the 2nd Battle of Terain( in the year 1192), Prithviraj Chauhan was defeated and Fatehabad was taken over by Muslim Rulers. Sultan Masud of Ghazni became the ruler of the area.

The Reign of Firoj Shah Tuglak

After Sultan Masud, the Tuglak Dynasty came into existence and Firoj Shah Tuglak ruled Fatehabad . He constructed new towns and refurbished the existing towns of the area. This was the period (1352 AD) when he established the city of Fatehabad and named the place after his son “Fateh Khan”. It was Firoj Shah who observed this area as a hunting ground and decided to build a city on it. He built canals that ensures supply of water from river Ghaggar to other areas of Fatehabad. During his reign he also constructed a fort, only the ruins of this fort are visible today. Besides, he also built 3 more forts in adjacent villages and entitled them after his three sons. Firoj Shah died in 1388 and after that Fatehabad was invaded by Timur in 1398 and was ruled by him for a short duration. Later Mughals took over the area and emperors like Babar and Humayun also ruled the place. Humayun built a mosque in Fatehabad during his reign. During the period of influence of Great Akbar, Fatehabad was reckoned as one of the most important Mahals. Gradually other invaders started controlling the area and in the year 1760, Fatehabad was taken over by Sikh and Bhatti Rulers.

Maratha Rule in Fatehabad

In 1798, the Tohana and Agroha were the main parganas that were under the influence of George Thomas. Later Lt. Bourquian( a French Officer) ruled the place in support of Marathas. He also reconstructed Hissar and Tohana towns. Later these places were ruled by Illias Beg.

Modern History of Fatehabad

In 1803, British gained control over Fatehabad after defeating the Marathas. In 1884, the district Sirsa was abolished and tehsil Sirsa was established. In the year 1889, a separate block named “Budhlada” was established which included 15 villages that were moved from Kaithal to the Fatehabad tehsil. Tehsil Barwala comprising 139 villages was destroyed in 1891, on 1st January and the entire area was dispensed between 3 adjoining tehsils- 24 villages went to Hisar, 13 went to Hansi and 102 villages went under Fatehabad. There were 13 villages that were shifted from Tehsil Hisar to Tehsil Bhiwani and one sub-tehsil was set up in Tohana in the Tehsil Fatehabad. In 1923, the sub tehsil Tohana was moved from Fatehabad to the Tehsil Hisar.

Fatehabad after Independence

In the year 1972, the sub tehsil Tohana was made tehsil. In 1979, two more sub tehsils were formed- 1) At Adampur(Tehsil Hisar) and 2) At Ratia(Tehsil Fatehabad). By the closing stages of 1978, the district of Hisar consisted of total 486 villages, distributed between the tehsils of Hisar(115 vill), Fatehabad(166 vill) and Tohana(86 vill). At last, in the year 1997, on 15th July, Fatehabad became a full-fledged district with the city of Fatehabad as its capital. Presently Fatehabad boasts of 3 tehsils, 3 sub divisions and 3 sub tehsils.

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries